End of the Year Reflection

NOT FINISHED

I am going to be writing about the assignments I did this year. Overall this year was very fun and I enjoyed it a lot. It was very fun and I learned a lot of new thing. Now back to the assignments. The assignments I am going to be talking about are: Quizzes: Article of the Week & Sentence of the Week, Blogging, Using Google Applications, Reading and Writing Notebook, Read aloud, Realistic Fiction, Book Clubs, Companion Book, Book Review, Social Issues Book, Comparative Essay. Some of these assignments were more like final projects than assignments, while others not really an assignment. 

One of the things that we learned about in sentence of the week

Sentence of the Week and Article of the Week: In the beginning of the year we did quizzes for sentence of the week and article of the week. All that we did in sentence of the week was find the subject, verb, and direct object. We also learned about FANBOYS. Sentence of the week helped me improve my grammar a lot. On the other hand, I don’t think article of the week helped me a lot. I didn’t really like the article of the week a lot. I found it very boring. We had to work at home and at school to finish the article in that week. In article of the week we used to read a article and mark our confusion, show evidence of close reading, and lastly write a 1+ page reflection.  The articles that we did were: The Economic Guide to Pick a Collage MajorSoccer’s Corrupt Soul, and 10 Benefits of Reading. In the reflection we just put down about what we thought about the article.My reflection for: The Economic Guide to Pick a Collage MajorSoccer’s Corrupt Soul, and  10 Benefits of Reading. Basically in the quiz all we had to do was make sentences about we learned in sentence of the week, submit the reflection, and write a reflection about the story that you were currently reading.

Word press!!! The amazing blog that I use

Blogging: We also did Blogging. We either used word press or blogger. I used word press because it was recommended by my teacher; Ms. Gierke. This was my fist time using word press, and I learned quite a lot. We usually posted our work on our blog when we were done. Sometimes we just write reflection about our unit in our blog (like I am doing right now!). The blog entries I did throughout the year were: About My Characters for Realistic Fiction, Picture Entry for Realistic Fiction, My Realistic Fiction Story, My Experience with Historical Fiction, Informational or Explanation Text, Reflecting on Book Club, Book Review- A Girl Named Disaster, and lastly my Argumentative Essay- Poverty Fear. Blogging helped me a lot not just in English class, but also for other subjects. Writing a blog entry was really fun because it was different than what we usually as a class did. I learned a lot and really enjoyed this assignment. I found blogging very easy and fun to use. Blogging was a great experience I am really proud of my myself for having a blog. 

Google Applications we used!!

Using google applications: The next assignment I will be talking about is not really assignment. It is using google applications. We used google application throughout the year. We used google docs for many things like drafting our essay. We used Gmail to communicate with friends and teachers. We used drive to save all our work form this year. We used google classroom to look at the assignments and announcements posted by our teacher. We used many more google applications throughout the year. It was a learning experience and I learned a lot about these google applications just by using them. Google application were very fun and easy to use. I had no difficulty using them.

Reading and Writing Notebook: We used our reading and writing notebook throughout the year. All we did in that notebook was take notes about the story we were reading, write reflections, brainstorm, take notes from the board, etc. Almost all the note taking was done in our reading and writing notebook. Using this notebook was very easy because you could just open it and jot down your ideas. Sometimes it was fun to use this notebook while other times, it was boring because you had to write a lot.

5dc07-blog2bpic2b25232b2

notes using notebook

a889c-blog2bpic

notes using notebook

 

Read Aloud book Ms. Gierke read

 

Read Aloud:  In Semester one and two, our teacher Ms. Gierke read us a book called “Children of the River”. It was a fun and entertaining book. It was very relaxing and fun. Ms. Gierke usually used to read for 15 minutes to 20 minutes. After the read aloud we used to discuss what happened in the book. The book was really interesting. It was a book about how refugees live in American and try to fit in. Some part s of the book were really funny that the whole class bursted out laughing, while other parts of the story were so boring that i almost fell asleep. I really enjoyed picturing the characters in my mind while Ms. Gierke read the story.